Search Alert (create) dialogue box

Use this dialogue box to create a search alert by specifying how often you want to be notified of any results, how you want to receive the results, and other options.

ValueDescription
Overview
Title
This is the name by which the alert will appear in the Alerts list.
Description
This is an optional description of the alert which, if entered, will appear in the Alerts list.
Search terms
Displays the search terms you used when you created the search on which the alert is based. If you wish, you can edit these terms, but keep in mind that that may cause the alert to generate considerably different results from the results generated by the original search.
Search type
Displays the type of search used in the original search, either natural language or terms & connectors, and the type of search the alert will conduct.
Client
The default client ID is selected by default. If you do not want to change the client ID, no action is needed. Otherwise, either select Recent client and choose a client you've recently used from the drop-down list, or select New client to enter the name of a new client.
Note
This is an optional note associated with the alert which, if entered, will appear in the Alerts list.
Monitor
Content Type / Narrowed By
Displays the content types the alert will monitor (i.e., search according to the specified frequency). The content types included in the original search are selected by default. Any additional filters applied using the Narrow By options in the results list are displayed to the right of each content type. Select the checkbox of each content type you want the alert to search; clear the checkbox of each content type you do not want the alert to search. Select Select all to select all content types; select Clear all to clear all content types. At least one content type must be selected before you can create the alert.
Deliver
Duration
In the Start and End boxes, enter the dates (or select them from the calendars) identifying the time span over which you want the alert to run.
Delivery Type
Select Online only or Email + Online. Online only indicates you want to view results by accessing the alert from the Alerts list. Email + Online indicates you want to be notified of results by email (you can also view results by accessing the alert from the Alerts list).
Email address
Appears only if you select Email + Online delivery. Enter the email address to which the results notification should be sent.
Delivery format
Appears only if you select Email + Online delivery. Select the format in which you want the notification to appear, either HTML or Text.
Frequency

Appears only if you select Email + Online delivery. Select how often you want to be notified of any results.

Daily
Notification is delivered each day of the week. Select the time of day you prefer.
Business daily
Notification is delivered each day from Monday through Friday. Select the time of day you prefer.
Weekly
Notification is delivered once a week. Select the day of the week and time of day you prefer.
Monthly
Notification is delivered once a month. Select the day of the month and time of day you prefer. If the day you select doesn't occur in a certain month, the notification is delivered on the first day of the following month. For example, if you select 30, a notification will be delivered on 1 March, because 30 February doesn't exist.
As updates are available
Notification is delivered as soon as updates are available.
Share
Enter a user's name ...
Use this to identify users with whom you want to share the alert. You can enter a user name directly (using the format last name, first name), or you can enter a user's email address. As you are typing, a list of user names may appear matching the characters you have typed. If you see the user name you want, you can select it from the list. Likewise, if the Recent users list appears and contains the user name or user's email address, you can select it from that list. After you have identified a user in any of these ways, select Add to Share to add the user's name to the Added Contacts list (see next).
Added Contacts
This lists the users you intend to share the alert with. If you want to delete a user from the list, select the X to the right of the user's name.

Copyright © 2024  LexisNexis.  All rights reserved.