How do I suspend, reactivate, or permanently deactivate a user?

Note: This function is restricted to system administrators only.
Note: When a user is active, you can suspend the user's ID immediately or specify a future date on which the ID will automatically be suspended. When a user is suspended, you can reactivate the user's ID for an indefinite period of time, or you can reactivate the ID and specify a future date on which it automatically will be suspended again. You can permanently deactivate either an active or suspended user's ID, but after doing so, you cannot reactivate it. You can also suspend, reactivate, or permanently deactivate multiple users simultaneously. To do this, go to How do I suspend, reactivate, or permanently deactivate multiple users simultaneously?.
  1. Click on the Admin link in the global navigation bar at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the Users tab.
  3. Click on the Find a User subtab.
  4. Enter the user's first and last name or the user ID
  5. Click on Find User.

    If the user you are looking for doesn't appear, see Using Wildcards and Truncation.

    If too many users appear, see Enter a More Specific Name or ID.

  6. Click on the user's name in the results list to go to the User Details page.
  7. Choose one of the following options:
    • To suspend an active user immediately, select Suspended from the Status drop-down list under the ID Status heading.

    • To specify a date on which an active user will automatically be suspended, select Temporarily active until from the Status drop-down list under the ID Status heading, then identify the date on which the user's ID should automatically change to suspended status.

      Note: A suspended user's alerts are halted within 24 hours and permanently deleted in 30 days. If you do not reactivate the user within one year, the user may be permanently deactivated.
    • To reactivate a suspended user for an indefinite period of time, select Active from the Status drop-down list under the ID Status heading.

    • To reactivate a suspended user for only a specific period of time, select Temporarily active until from the Status drop-down list under the ID Status heading, then identify the date on which the user's ID should automatically return to suspended status.

      Note: Users alerts will be restored automatically, if they were suspended less than 30 days ago. Otherwise, they will need to re-create their alerts.
    • To permanently deactivate an active or suspended user, select Permanently deactivated from the Status drop-down list under the ID Status heading.

      Caution:You cannot reactivate users after permanently deactivating them.
  8. Click on Save, then click on OK to confirm the change of status.

Copyright © 2019  LexisNexis   All rights reserved.